Big change in Indian women’s hockey team, Salima Tete becomes captain in place of Savita Punia.

There has been a big change in the Indian women’s hockey team. Actually, midfielder Salima Tete has been given the command of the team in place of Savita Punia. Let us tell you that, she has been selected as the captain of India’s 24-member women’s hockey team for the Belgium and England phase of HIH Pro League to be held later this month. While Navneet Kaur has been chosen as the vice-captain.

Whereas Salima said in the release issued by Hockey India that, I am happy that I have been given the captaincy of the team. This is a big responsibility and I am excited about it. We have a strong team which has experienced and young players. He also said, “We will give our best performance in the upcoming Belgium and England stages of the FIH Pro League. We have to overcome our weaknesses.

Savita was India’s captain in the Olympic qualifiers and subsequent Pro League matches. The matches in Belgium will take place from 22 to 26 May and in England from 1 to 9 June. India will face Argentina and Belgium twice in the first leg. The team will play Britain and Germany in the London phase. India is currently ranked sixth in the Pro League table. Salima recently received the Balbir Singh Sr. Female Player of the Year Award at the Hockey India Annual Awards.

Indian women’s team is as follows

Goalkeeper: Savita, Scorpion Goddess Kharibam

Defender: Nikki Pradhan, Udita, Ishika Chaudhary, Monica, Jyoti Chhatri, Mahima Chaudhary

Midfielder: Salima Tete (captain), Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Navneet Kaur, Neha, Jyoti, Baljeet Kaur, Manisha Chauhan, Lalremsiami.

Forward: Mumtaz Khan, Sangeeta Kumari, Deepika, Sharmila Devi, Preeti Dubey, Vandana Kataria, Sunelita Toppo, Deepika Soreng.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top