By-elections on 4 assembly seats in Bengal on July 10, BJP-Trinamool face to face

The BJP will take on the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) in the by-elections to four assembly seats in West Bengal on July 10. By-elections are going to be held on July 10 in Maniktala, Raiganj, Ranaghat South and Bagdah assembly constituencies. In three of these assembly constituencies – Raiganj, Ranaghat South and Bagdah – BJP MLAs switched parties and joined the TMC and lost in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.

The assembly constituency Maniktala, traditionally a Congress seat, was seen as a TMC stronghold in recent elections. However, a by-election could not be held on the seat even months after Pandey’s death, as BJP candidate Kalyan Chaubey filed a petition alleging irregularities in voting during the 2021 elections and sought a recount of votes. The law forbids the holding of any election for that seat until any election petition related to that seat is resolved in court.

On April 29, 2024, Chaubey withdrew his election petition from the court, paving the way for a by-election on the seat. The TMC has fielded Sadhan Pandey’s wife Supti Pandey against BJP’s Kalyan Chaubey, who had earlier contested against Sadhan Pandey in 2021. The BJP won the Raiganj assembly seat in 2021, but party MLA Krishna Kalyani joined the TMC. She was fielded as a parliamentary candidate from Raiganj but lost the Lok Sabha election to BJP candidate Kartik Paul.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top