CSK vs PBKS: Chennai Super Kings eyes better performance in every department of the game against Punjab Kings

Chennai Super Kings would like to perform amazingly against Punjab Kings at Chepauk Stadium in Chennai on Wednesday. In fact, Chennai Super Kings, which is suffering from lack of consistency in performance, will be eyeing a united performance in all departments of the game.

CSK has 10 points from 9 matches which is the same as Lucknow Super Giants, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals. The defending champion team will definitely try to overtake these teams with a win. However, the worries of the defending champions Super Kings have increased as the Punjab Kings team is entering this match after achieving the biggest target in T20 cricket history of 262 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Punjab Kings have six points from nine matches. Chepauk, however, is a Super Kings bastion where the bowlers are favored by the pitch and the hosts registered a comfortable 78-run win over Sunrisers in the last match. There was no dew in Chennai that night and after the batsmen scored over 200, the Super Kings bowlers destroyed the strong Sunrisers batting unit with their accurate and varied bowling.

Chennai will have to repeat this performance against Punjab and all eyes will be on captain Ruturaj Gaikwad who has returned to form. Gaikwad has scored 108 and 98 runs in his last two innings and New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell has also found his rhythm at the right time by scoring 52 runs in 32 balls against Hyderabad.

However, the real storm in the batting order of Super Kings is Shivam Dubey, who has destroyed the opposition bowlers by coming as an impact player. Dubey, a left-handed batsman who plays well against spin, has now added another dimension to his batting by performing effectively against fast bowlers in the current season.

Dubey has scored 350 runs so far, which is the second highest score for Super Kings after Gaikwad’s 447 runs. He has scored these runs at a strike rate of 172.41 and in this case is second in the team after Mahendra Singh Dhoni (259.45). But the opening pair of Super Kings remains unstable. Gaikwad has performed well but now both the dropped Rachin Ravindra and Ajinkya Rahane have not been able to support their captain.

As an opening batsman, Rahane scored 05, 36, 01 and 09 in the last four innings which is not in line with his experience and skills. However, there is every possibility that the team will give him more chances. Batting coach Michael Hussey had also said that this 35-year-old batsman is close to playing a big innings.

On the other hand, Punjab Kings team will be eager to continue the momentum after achieving the record target and move ahead from the current eighth position in the points table. For this, the team once again expects a united performance from the batsmen. The responsibility will once again be on the shoulders of Jonny Bairstow, Shashank Singh and Prabhsimran Singh, who scored centuries against Knight Riders. However, the team would like a more impressive performance from wicketkeeper batsman Jitesh Sharma.

The bowling attack of Punjab Kings looks a bit weak despite the presence of experienced bowlers like Kagiso Rabada, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh and Sam Curran. The visiting team also needs a better performance from its spinners Harpreet Brar and Rahul Chahar as they have taken only seven wickets this season.

The teams are as follows:

Superkings: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Aravelly Avneesh, Ajinkya Rahane, Sheikh Rashid, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dubey, RS Hangarkar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Nishant Sindhu, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Chaudhary, Mustafizur Rahman, Mathisa Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Prashant Solanki, Shardul Thakur, Mahish Teekshana and Sameer Rizvi.

Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Matthew Short, Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Sikandar Raza, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar. , Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kawerappa, Shivam Singh, Harshal Patel, Chris Woakes, Ashutosh Sharma, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, Shashank Singh, Tanay Thiagarajan, Prince Choudhary and Riley Roseau.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top