India and Australia in Group A of Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh

Dubai. India was on Sunday placed in Group A along with defending champions Australia, New Zealand and Pakistan for the T20 World Cup to be held in Bangladesh from October 3 to 20 this year. All India’s group matches will be played in Sylhet. According to the schedule of the ninth Women’s T20 World Cup announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the Indian team will start its campaign against New Zealand on October 4, while on October 6, it will face arch-rivals Pakistan. The Indian team will play the third match on October 9 against the first qualifier, which has not been decided yet.

The team has to play its last group match against six-time world champions Australia on October 13. ICC wrote on its website, “Each team in the tournament will play four group matches and the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-final matches to be held on October 17 and 18 before the final to be held in Dhaka on October 20.” “A total of 23 matches will be played in 19 days in Dhaka and Sylhet, with reserve days kept for both the semi-finals and finals, if necessary,” said.

Hosts Bangladesh have been placed in Group B along with South Africa, England, West Indies and other qualifiers. Today, the two teams that will qualify for the main tournament will be decided along with the two teams that will make it to the finals of the qualifying tournament. Ireland, UAE, Sri Lanka and Scotland are in the race for a place in the main tournament. Ireland team will play Scotland in the first semi-final today while the second semi-final will also be held today in which UAE will face Sri Lanka. Both the semi-finals will be played at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top