India won the T20 World Cup title for the second time, South African team’s dreams remained unfulfilled

India has won the T20 World Cup title for the second time. In the final played at Kensington Oval in Barbados, Team India defeated South Africa by 7 runs in a thrilling match. After winning the toss and batting first, India scored 176 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. In response, the African team, playing its first T20 World Cup final, could score only 169 runs and missed the title.

India has become the champion of T20 World Cup for the second time. India won this trophy for the first time in the year 2007. With this, India has become the third team to win the T20 title for the second time. Before that, England and West Indies have done this. India has ended the drought of ICC trophy going on since 2013 and the drought of T20 World Cup going on for 17 years.

Excellent innings from De Kock and Klaasen

After Stubbs was out, De Kock continued his stormy innings and kept scoring runs continuously. Heinrich Klaasen started hitting long shots in his usual style. De Kock was looking dangerous. Both the batsmen played brilliantly, after which Arshdeep Singh got De Kock caught by Kuldeep Yadav at deep square leg on the third ball of the 13th over. This left-handed batsman scored 39 runs in 31 balls with the help of four fours and a six.

After this, David Miller was still left and was a threat for India but could not perform well with the bat. Suryakumar Yadav took a wonderful catch of Miller on the last ball and almost ensured India’s victory in the match. Hardik Pandya saved the remaining runs in the last over and gave India the victory.

Virat Kohli’s brilliant innings

The hero of victory from India’s side was none other than Virat Kohli. Kohli failed in the entire tournament but in the final he played an important innings of 76 runs. His innings came under pressure. Rohit Sharma got out in the second over after scoring 9 runs. After this, Pant returned to the pavilion without opening his account. After this, Akshar Patel along with Virat Kohli made a great partnership of 72 runs in 54 balls.

Akshar Patel missed out on a half-century but he played a brilliant and important innings of 47 runs in 31 balls. During his innings, he hit four sixes and a four.

Shivam Dubey supported

Kohli then added 57 runs with Shivam Dubey and after Kohli was out on the fifth ball of the 19th over, Dubey was also out. He scored 27 runs in 16 balls. Dubey’s innings included three fours and a six. Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten by scoring 5 runs. While Ravindra Jadeja could score only 2 runs.

For South Africa, Keshav Maharaj and Enrique Norkhia took 2-2 wickets. Marco Jansen and Kagiso Rabada took one wicket each. On the other hand, for India, Hardik Pandya took 3 wickets, Jaspreet Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh took 2-2 and Akshar Patel took 1 wicket.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top