Indian athletes would like to perform better in National Inter-State Championships for Olympic berth

In the absence of Olympic javelin throw champion Neeraj Chopra, India’s top track and field athletes will look to perform well to secure a Paris Olympics berth during the National Inter-State Championships starting here on Thursday. This four-day championship will be the final qualifying tournament for the upcoming Paris Olympics.

Chopra will not participate in Panchkula as there are very few days left for the Paris Diamond League to be held on July 7. He participated in the Federation Cup in Bhubaneswar last month and won a gold medal. Last month, Athletics Federation of India (AFI) president Adil Sumariwala had made it clear that it would be mandatory for all other players except Chopra to participate in the National Inter-State Championships to be selected for the Paris Olympics.

As per AFI rules, all players have to participate in the National Inter-State Championships to be selected for tournaments like Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games. The federation can give exemptions on request of particular players or their coaches. In Chopra’s absence, Avinash Sable (men’s 3000m steeplechase), Kishore Jena (men’s javelin throw), Ram Babu (men’s 20km walk) and Parul Chaudhary (women’s 3000m steeplechase) will be the headliners at the championships who have secured their berths for the Paris Olympics by achieving the qualifying standard.

Players like Jyoti Yaraji (women’s 100m hurdles), Annu Rani (women’s javelin throw), DP Manu (men’s javelin throw), Tejinderpal Singh Toor (men’s shot put), Jaswin Aldrin (men’s long jump), Praveen Chitravel and Abdullah Abubakar (both men’s triple jump) can book tickets to Paris through world ranking quota. Asian record holder Toor told PTI on Tuesday that he has a slight pain in his ankle and his doctor has advised him not to throw shot put for three-four weeks. But his name is included in the AFI’s updated entry list on Wednesday.

Some rising stars like sprinter Animesh Kujur, 110m hurdler Tejas Shirse and long jumper Shaili Singh will also be seen challenging. Almost every member of the Indian men’s and women’s 4x400m relay team, which have secured a place in Paris Olympics, will participate. National record holder 20km walker Akshdeep Singh has crossed the qualifying mark for the Paris Games but his name is not included in the entry list. Priyanka Goswami, national record holder in women’s 20km walk, has also qualified for the Paris Olympics and her name is also not in the list.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top