India’s young team lost to Zimbabwe by 13 runs in the first T20 match

Harare. The young Indian team led by Shubman Gill lost to less experienced Zimbabwe by 13 runs in the first T20 International match of the five-match series here on Saturday due to the disappointing performance of the batsmen. Indian bowlers, led by leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi, restricted Zimbabwe to 115 runs for nine wickets. But the Indian batsmen faced a lot of difficulty on the bouncy pitch, which led to the loss of four wickets in the powerplay and the entire team was reduced to 102 runs in 19.5 overs. India, which won the T20 World Cup recently, had fielded young players on this tour and was expected to easily win over Zimbabwe.

But Zimbabwe upset India by defeating them thanks to fast bowler Tendai Chatara (three wickets for 16 runs) and captain Sikandar Raza (three wickets for 25 runs). This was India’s first defeat in T20 International in 2024. This is also India’s first defeat against Zimbabwe in eight years. In this match, India made three players debut. Debutant Abhishek Sharma (zero) could not even open the account and was caught by Wellington Masakadza at deep square leg off Brian Bennett in the very first over of the innings. Ruturaj Gaikwad (07) had hit only one four after playing nine balls when Blessing Mujarbani’s good length ball hit the edge of his bat and landed in the hands of Innocent Kaia.

Chatara dismissed both Riyan Parag (02) and Rinku Singh (0) in the fifth over, taking India to 22 for four. Captain Shubman Gill (31 runs) stood firm at one end and saw wickets falling continuously at the other end. With wicketkeeper-batsman Dhruv Jurel (06) getting out in the 10th over and captain Gill getting out in the 11th over, the hopes of India staying for the full over were dashed. But Avesh Khan (16 runs) and Washington Sundar (27 runs) added 23 runs for the eighth wicket to take India to 84.

India needed 16 runs in the last over with one wicket remaining and the innings ended as soon as it fell. Earlier, Bishnoi (4 wickets for 13 runs) got good support from off-spinner Washington (2 wickets for 11 runs) due to which Zimbabwe’s team struggled to make a strong partnership on the bouncy pitch after being invited to bat. Zimbabwe, however, started fast and scored 40 runs for two wickets in the powerplay. After Innocent Kaia was dismissed by Mukesh Kumar, Wesley Madhevere (21 runs) and Brian Bennett (22 runs) quickly added 34 runs. Both of them scored 17 runs in the fifth over off left-arm fast bowler Khalil Ahmed.

Bennett hit two consecutive fours in this, which made it seem that Zimbabwe was recovering from the initial setback. But in the sixth over, Bishnoi changed the course of Zimbabwe’s innings by dismissing Bennett with his googly. Then three more Zimbabwean batsmen returned to the pavilion, which included Blessing Muzarabani and Luke Jongwe apart from Madhevere. The team tried to recover with the patience of captain Sikandar Raza (17 runs), but lost six wickets for 41 runs due to loss of rhythm. The panic in the team was clearly visible. Jonathan Campbell (zero), son of former Zimbabwe captain Alistair Campbell, wanted to take a run by sending Avesh Khan’s ball towards the covers and his partner Dion Myers was also ready.

But Campbell suddenly changed his mind and stopped and got run out. Now Zimbabwe’s hopes were on captain Raza, he raised hopes by hitting a six over his head on Avesh. But Avesh took full advantage of the extra bounce and soon got Raza out. Raza could not time the ball properly and the ball reached Bishnoi’s hands in the deep. Washington took two wickets in two consecutive balls. He sent Myers (23 runs) and Wellington Masakadza (zero) to the pavilion. This Tamil Nadu bowler also completed his 100 wickets in T20 in this way. Zimbabwe was able to cross the 100-run mark thanks to Clive Madande’s unbeaten 29 runs.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top