IPL 2024 CSK vs PBKS: Punjab Kings defeated Chennai Super Kings, excellent performance by spinners

In the 49th match of IPL 2024, Punjab Kings defeated Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets. Batting first, Chennai scored 163 runs, due to which Punjab easily won the match by losing three wickets in 17.5 overs. Punjab has achieved its fifth consecutive win against CSK. Punjab is the second team to do this feat against CSK in IPL. Before this, Mumbai Indians have won five consecutive matches from Chennai.

During this, Rahul Chahar and Harpreet Brar bowled brilliant spin for Punjab. Apart from taking two wickets each, he gave 16 and 17 runs respectively in his quota of four overs without hitting any boundary. Later, the aggressive batting of Jonny Bairstow (46 runs in 30 balls) and Riley Raiso (43 runs in 23 balls) gave a better victory to Punjab Kings.

While Bairstow hit seven fours and one six in his innings, Roseau hit five fours and two sixes. Both of them took the match out of CSK’s grip by making a partnership of 64 runs in 37 balls for the second wicket. After this, Shashank Singh (25 not out) and captain Sam Curran (26 not out) made an unbroken stand of 50 runs in 37 balls for the fourth wicket. The partnership gave the team an easy victory.

Earlier, for Chennai, Ruturaj Gaikwad held one end in difficult batting conditions and hit five fours and two sixes in his 48-ball innings. With this he became the highest run-scorer batsman in this season. He has 509 runs in his name in 10 matches. CSK captain Ajinkya Rahane (29 runs in 23 balls) scored 64 runs in 50 balls for the first wicket and Sameer Rizvi (21 runs in 23 balls) scored 37 runs in 34 balls for the fourth wicket and Moeen Ali (15 runs in 9 balls) Run) for the sixth wicket with a partnership of 38 runs in 15 balls which helped CSK reach a competitive score.

While defending the target, CSK suffered a setback with Deepak Chahar getting injured on the second ball of the innings. He left the field due to muscle strain. Shardul Thakur (1 wicket for 48 runs), who came to complete the over in his place, was welcomed by Prabhsimran Singh (13) with a six. IPL debutant Richard Gleeson (1 wicket for 30 runs) got Prabhasimran caught by Gaikwad in the third over of the innings. As soon as Roseau came to the crease, he hit fours in two balls against Gleeson and then Mustafizur Rahman. From the other end, Bairstow also hit two fours against Shardul, due to which Punjab’s score in the powerplay became 52 runs for one wicket.

Ruturaj then resorted to spin bowlers but due to dew on the field, Ravindra Jadeja and Moeen could not bowl effectively. After hitting two fours against Jadeja, Bairstow did not give him a chance to dominate by hitting a six and a four against Moeen. Shivam Dubey (1 wicket for 14 runs) ended Bairstow’s innings at the hands of Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the 10th over but it had no effect on Roseau. After hitting a six and a four in the same over, he also sent the ball to the audience against Shardul. However, Thakur bowled him on the last ball of the over.

Meanwhile, Mustafizur bowled a maiden in the 15th over but Shashank Singh, who was in excellent form, leveled the score with a six against Moeen in the next over. Curran hit a four against Gleeson in the 17th over and then Shashank gave the team victory by taking two runs. Earlier, Gaikwad hit two fours against Arshdeep Singh (one wicket for 52 runs) in the second over, but the Punjab bowlers did not give the Chennai openers a chance to play openly in the first four overs. In the fifth over, Gaikwad again hit two fours against this bowler while Rahane hit fours against Curran on the last three balls of the sixth over and made a half-century partnership for the first wicket.

In the powerplay the team scored 55 runs without any loss. After the powerplay, captain Curran handed the ball to the spinners. Rahul Chahar and Brar took three wickets for just 30 runs in the next seven overs. Brar dismissed Rahane and Dubey (0) on consecutive balls in the ninth over. In the next over, Rahul Chahar dismissed Jadeja (two). Dubey and Jadeja were LBW and the team also lost the review. Rizvi, who came to the crease as an impact player, also failed to increase the run rate. The team completed the century of runs in the 15th over. In the next over, Rizvi hit a four against Kagiso Rabada (one wicket for 23 runs).

This four came from the bat in the interval of 55 balls for Chennai. However, he was caught by Harshal Patel on the next ball towards third man. Ruturaj completed his half-century in 44 balls by hitting a six against Sam Curran in the 17th over and then scored 20 runs from the over with another six. In the next over, Moeen hit a six and a four against Arshdeep but the left-arm bowler ended Gaikwad’s brilliant innings. In the 19th over, Rahul Chahar ended Moeen Ali’s innings by conceding just three runs. Dhoni (14) hit a four and a six against Arshdeep in the last over but was run out on the last ball.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top