LSG vs KKR: KKR faces a strong challenge as LSG tries to strengthen its hopes in the playoffs.

When the teams of Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who are heading towards the playoffs in the Indian Premier League, face each other on Sunday, they will aim to strengthen their claim for a place in the last four with a win. will be. After defeating Mumbai Indians by 24 runs in a low-scoring match at their home ground, KKR has 14 points and the team is very close to playoff qualification.

In such a situation, there will be pressure on LSG under the leadership of Lokesh Rahul to find a way to escape the threat of Shreyas Iyer’s team. LSG has 12 points from 10 matches with six wins and four losses and is placed third, just one place below KKR. Sunrisers Hyderabad (12 points) are in fourth place while Chennai Super Kings (10 points) and Delhi Capitals (10 points) are also strongly in the race to make it to the top four. LSG had to work hard to chase down a modest target of 145 runs against Mumbai Indians in their previous encounter here at the Ekana Stadium. The team could win by only four wickets in the last over.

Captain Rahul and all-rounder Marcus Stoinis have done well for LSG and it remains to be seen if experienced South African Quinton de Kock is brought back in place of young Arshin Kulkarni. Kulkarni had started the innings in the last match. Nicholas Pooran has not scored a half-century so far this season but he has scored fast runs for the team in the last over on many occasions. However, he was seen struggling to score runs against Mumbai due to which his ‘finishing skills’ are under question. Ayush Badoni has also failed to impress this season by missing a few matches. He would like to regain the momentum against KKR.

The bowlers of Lucknow team will have to try their hardest to stop the aggressive batsmen of KKR. The team will not get the services of Mayank Yadav, who impressed with his fast bowling. KKR team has faced three defeats this season. The team has made a strong comeback after these three defeats. In the last match against Mumbai, the team had lost five wickets for 57 runs but Venkatesh Iyer (70) and Manish Pandey (42) saved the team by making a good partnership of 83 runs. Both of them handled the pressure brilliantly and scored runs quickly. After this, the bowlers took wickets at regular intervals and registered a memorable victory of 24 runs by dismissing the Mumbai team in 18.5 overs.


LSG: KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Kyle Mayers, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Devdutt Padikkal, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen Ul Haq, Krunal Pandya, Yudhveer Singh, Prerak Mankad, Yash Thakur, Amit Mishra. , Shamar Joseph, Mayank Yadav, Mohsin Khan, K Gautam, Shivam Mavi, Arshin Kulkarni, M Siddharth, Ashton Turner, Matt Henry, Mohammad Arshad Khan.

KKR: Shreyas Iyer (captain), KS Bharat, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, Venkatesh Iyer, Anukul Roy, Ramandeep Singh, Varun Chakraborty, Sunil Narine, Vaibhav Arora, Chetan Sakariya, Harshit Rana, Suyyash Sharma, Mitchell Starc, Dushmantha Chameera, Saqib Hussain, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Gut Atkinson, Allah Ghazanfar, Phil Salt.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top