Lucknow Lok Sabha Seat: Rajnath Singh eyes hat-trick, Atal Bihari Vajpayee was 5-time MP

Lucknow is one of the Lok Sabha constituencies of Uttar Pradesh. There are 80 parliamentary seats in the state. Lucknow seat consists of five assembly constituencies including Lucknow West, Lucknow North, Lucknow East, Lucknow Central and Lucknow Cantt. This constituency is a general seat and is not reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) and Scheduled Tribes (ST). Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Samajwadi Party (SP), Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are the main parties in this constituency. This seat was represented by veteran BJP leader and former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee for five consecutive terms in 1991, 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2004.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh won the seat for the second consecutive time by a margin of 3,47,302 votes. He received 6,33,026 votes with 56.64% vote share. He defeated SP candidate Poonam Shatrughan Sinha, who got 2,85,724 votes (25.57%). The total number of valid votes was 11,16,445. Congress candidate Acharya Pramod Krishnam stood third with 1,80,011 votes (16.11%). Senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh won this seat for the first time in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. He received 5,61,106 votes with 54.23% vote share. Congress candidate Rita Bahuguna Joshi received 2,88,357 votes (27.87%) and was the runner-up.

Singh defeated Joshi by a margin of 2,72,749 votes. The total number of valid votes cast in this constituency was 10,33,883. BSP candidate Nakul Dubey stood third with 64,449 votes (6.23%) and SP candidate Abhishek Mishra stood fourth with 56,771 votes (5.49%). Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate and actor Javed Jaffrey finished fifth with just 41,429 votes (4.00%).

this time’s election

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, a two-time MP from Lucknow, faces a direct contest from India Alliance candidate Ravidas Mehrotra, a Samajwadi Party MLA from the Lucknow Central Assembly seat. Singh will be contesting to ensure his third consecutive victory from the prestigious parliamentary constituency, which was represented by late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee five times from 1991 to 2004.

Lucknow Past Winner

Lal ji Tandon (BJP): 2009

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (BJP): 2004

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (BJP): 1999

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (BJP): 1998

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (BJP): 1996

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (BJP): 1991

Mandhata Singh (Janata Dal): 1989

Sheela Kaul (Congress): 1984

Sheela Kaul (Congress): 1980

Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna (BLD): 1977

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top