More than 40 percent voting till 1 pm in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections

New Delhi. Amid incidents of violence in Andhra Pradesh and reports of boycott of elections in some villages of Uttar Pradesh, more than 40 percent voting was recorded till 1 pm on Monday in 96 Lok Sabha seats of 10 states and union territories in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections. Went. There have also been reports of malfunctions in electronic voting machines (EVMs) at some booths in West Bengal and Odisha. According to the Election Commission, 40.32 percent voting was recorded till 1 pm. Voting started at 7 in the morning, which will continue till 6 in the evening.

Till 1 pm, the lowest number of voters exercised their franchise in Jammu and Kashmir at 23.57 percent and the highest in West Bengal at 51.87 percent. Whereas in Andhra Pradesh, 40.26 percent voters, 34.44 percent in Bihar, 43.80 percent in Jharkhand, 48.52 percent in Madhya Pradesh, 30.85 percent in Maharashtra, 39.30 percent in Odisha, 40.38 percent in Telangana and 39.68 percent in Uttar Pradesh voted. Violence was reported from many parts of Andhra Pradesh, where workers of Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leveled allegations against each other.

According to the police, Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) leader and Tenali MLA A Shiv Kumar allegedly scuffled with a voter at a polling booth in the assembly constituency after an argument with the voters. An EVM was destroyed in Dalvaipalli village of Railway Kodur assembly constituency, a police official said. He said that cars of ruling party and TDP workers were also damaged. At the same time, a TDP worker was attacked in Nakkaladinne village of Mayduruku assembly constituency, who was admitted to the hospital.

YSRCP alleged that party worker Suresh Reddy was stabbed in Mandi Krishnapuram village of Gudipala mandal in Chittoor. The YSRCP said in a statement that TDP workers allegedly damaged the vehicle of senior YSRCP leader Nandigam Suresh. Meanwhile, TDP Legislative Councilor Mohammad Ahmed Sharif wrote a letter to Chief Electoral Officer Mukesh Kumar Meena complaining about alleged attacks on TDP supporters by YSRCP workers in Rentala village of Rentichintala mandal in Palnadu district.

People boycotted voting in some villages of Shahjahanpur, protesting against the lack of roads and development works in Uttar Pradesh. Complaints were filed in West Bengal alleging EVM malfunction, workers being prevented from entering polling stations and voters being prevented or intimidated from casting their votes in various constituencies. The Election Commission said it has so far received 1,088 complaints from various political parties alleging EVM malfunction and workers being prevented from entering the booths. There were reports of EVM malfunction at many places in Odisha also.

An official said that so far 65 Ballot Units (BU), 83 Control Units (CU) and 110 VVPATs have been replaced. Most of the units were replaced during the exercise, before the actual voting at seven in the morning. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunj Bihari Dhal said that the Commission has suspended two polling officers in Odisha for dereliction of duty. In neighboring Jharkhand, Maoists attempted to disrupt voters’ access to polling stations by felling a tree and blocking the road leading to remote Sonapi and Morangponga areas of West Singhbhum district, which was foiled by security forces.

Voting continues peacefully in Jammu and Kashmir’s Srinagar Lok Sabha seat, where three generations of the Abdullah family cast their votes. A total of 1,717 candidates are in the fray for 96 Lok Sabha seats in the fourth phase. In this round, more than 17.70 crore eligible voters, including 8.73 crore women, will exercise their franchise at 1.92 lakh polling stations. All 17 Lok Sabha seats of Telangana, 25 of Andhra Pradesh, 13 of Uttar Pradesh, five of Bihar, four of Jharkhand, eight of Madhya Pradesh, 11 of Maharashtra, four of Odisha, eight seats of West Bengal and one seat of Jammu and Kashmir. But voting continues. The voting percentage in the first three phases of the Lok Sabha elections was 66.14 percent, 66.71 percent and 65.68 percent respectively. Voting for the next three phases in the country will be held on May 20, May 25 and June 1. Counting of votes will take place on June 4.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top