SRH vs RR IPL 2024: Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Rajasthan Royals by 1 run in a thrilling match.

In the match played on Thursday, Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Rajasthan Royals by one run. In the 50th match of IPL 2024, Sunrisers Hyderabad, batting first, scored 201 runs losing three wickets in 20 overs. After this, the Royals team could score only 200 runs after losing seven wickets in 20 overs.

Riyan Parag scored the highest 77 runs for Rajasthan Royals. For Sunrisers, Bhuvneshwar Kumar took three wickets and Natarajan-Cummins took 2-2 wickets. With this victory, the Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad team has reached fourth place in the points table. Chennai Super Kings team is out of the top-4. On the other hand, Rajasthan Royals have suffered their second defeat in the tournament. Earlier, Gujarat Titans had defeated Rajasthan.

Rajasthan Royals had a bad start while chasing the target of 202 runs. The team lost the wickets of Sanju Samson and Jos Buttler in the very first over. Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismissed him. Both the batsmen were out without opening the account. After this, there was an excellent partnership of 134 runs in 78 balls for the third wicket between Yashasvi Jaiswal and Riyan Parag. While Yashasvi scored 67 runs in 40 balls, Riyan Parag scored 77 runs in 49 balls. Hetmyer could score only 13 runs in 9 balls. Dhruv Jurel scored one run. After this, Powell along with Ashwin made a partnership of 18 runs in 11 balls for the seventh wicket, due to which Rajasthan came closer to victory. Rajasthan needed only 13 runs in the last over and the team was close to achieving the target after five balls but Powell was trapped LBW on the last ball. Powell scored 27 runs in 15 balls.

Earlier, Hyderabad made a slow start by batting first. After which Pat Cummins’ team could score only 37 runs for two wickets in the powerplay. Head opened Trent Boult’s account with a four on the first ball of the match while Abhishek Sharma (12) welcomed Ravichandran Ashwin with a six. Avesh gave the first success to the Royals by getting Abhishek caught by Dhruv Jurel. Anmolpreet Singh (05) hit a four on Avesh as soon as he came but Sandeep Sharma’s very first ball was played into the hands of Jaiswal at mid-wicket. Head showed his attitude and hit two sixes and a four on consecutive balls of Chahal in the ninth over. Nitish also hit sixes on Ashwin and Avesh.

Nitish took the team’s score beyond 100 runs with two sixes and two fours on Chahal in the 13th over. Head completed his half-century in 39 balls with one run off Sandeep. Head then hit a six on Avesh but was bowled after two balls. After completing his half-century in 30 balls with one run off Ashwin, Nitish hit two consecutive sixes on the off-spinner. Klaasen also hit two sixes on Chahal. Klaasen scored 15 runs with sixes and fours off Sandeep in the last over and took the team’s score beyond 200 runs for the fifth time in the season.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top