T20 World Cup 2024 Prize Money: Money will rain on the winning team, runner up will also be rich

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced an unprecedented prize pool fund of US$11.25 million for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Fans may be surprised to know how much money the winner and runner-up will get after the India vs South Africa final in Barbados. It is being told that the winners will get the highest amount in the history of the tournament. Whoever among India and South Africa manages to win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 by winning the competition will get a whopping amount of $2.45 million.

The other team, which finishes as runners-up, will earn $1.28 million. The two losing semifinal teams will go home with $787,500 each. The teams that did not advance past the second round will each receive $382,500, while teams that finish between ninth and twelfth place will receive $247,500 each. In addition to the prize money, each team will receive an additional $31,154 for each match they win. However, this does not include the semifinals and finals.

Meanwhile, it is worth noting that both India and South Africa are undefeated in the final. This means that this will be the first time that a team will be crowned T20 World Champion without losing a single game on the way to the title. While India won the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007, the Proteas will be participating in the final of the competition for the first time. The Rohit Sharma-led Indian team will be looking to end a global title drought of over 10 years when they take on South Africa in the T20 World Cup final on Saturday. Both teams have been unbeaten in their campaigns to the final but India will have the upper hand due to the experience of playing multiple finals of major tournaments. South Africa have reached the final of an ICC tournament for the first time since 1998.

India’s campaign in the tournament has been similar to last year’s home ODI World Cup, where they reached the final but were outplayed by Australia in the title clash. India have been the best team here too. More importantly, they are not facing Australia this time. South Africa’s only win in ICC events came in the Champions Trophy (then called the ICC Knock-Out Trophy) in 1998.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top