Voting will be held simultaneously for Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh on Monday.

Amravati. After an election campaign featuring passionate speeches by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy and several other prominent leaders of various political parties, simultaneous voting will be held on Monday for the 175-member Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh. YSR Congress Party President Jaganmohan (Pulivendula), Telugu Desam Party (TDP) President N. Chandrababu Naidu (Kuppam) and Janasena chief and actor Pawan Kalyan (Pithampuram) are contesting the assembly elections.

Congress Andhra Pradesh unit president and Jaganmohan’s sister Y S Sharmila (Cuddapah) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state president Purandeswari (Rajamahendravaram) are contesting the Lok Sabha elections. YSR Congress Party is contesting all 175 assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state. As per the seat sharing between the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners, TDP is contesting on 144 Assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats while BJP is contesting on six Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats. Janasena is contesting on two Lok Sabha seats and 21 assembly seats.

The YSR Congress campaign focused on the welfare measures implemented in the last five years while the NDA focused on the “failures” of the state government and the benefits it would provide if voted to power in the state. Apart from Prime Minister Modi, many central leaders including Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah and Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge campaigned for their respective party candidates. To ensure smooth voting, the Election Commission has deployed 1.06 lakh security personnel, including 3,500 Karnataka Police personnel, 4,500 Tamil Nadu Police personnel, 1,614 ex-personnel and 246 retired police personnel.

Voting in the state will begin at 7 am and continue till 6 pm. However, at some places polling will end an hour or two earlier. There are a total of 4.14 crore voters in this southern state which includes 2.02 crore men, 2.1 crore women, 3,421 third gender and 68,185 service voters. According to Andhra Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer MK Meena, 454 candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha elections and 2,387 candidates for the Assembly elections. Expressing confidence of winning the elections, the YSR Congress Party chief said that he is not ‘Abhimanyu’ who will succumb to the alleged political conspiracies hatched by the opposition parties.

In a post on ‘X’, Reddy described himself as ‘Arjuna’, who along with people like Lord Krishna will prove victorious. Opposition leader Naidu, in a post on ‘X’, appealed to the people of the state to vote on May 13, saying it was important for the future of Andhra Pradesh. In the last assembly elections, YSRCP had won 151 seats, TDP 23 and Janasena one seat, while the ruling party had won 22 Lok Sabha seats and the Chandrababu Naidu-led party had won three Lok Sabha seats.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top