In the final results of Lok Sabha elections, BJP has been declared victorious on 240 seats and Congress on 99 seats: Election Commission

The Election Commission of India has declared the final results for all 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, in which the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has been declared victorious on 240 seats and the Congress on 99 seats.

The final result of Beed constituency of Maharashtra has been declared. On this seat, Nationalist Congress Party (Sharadchandra Pawar) candidate Bajrang Manohar Sonawane defeated BJP’s Pankaja Munde by 6,553 votes.

There are 543 members in the Lok Sabha, but after BJP candidate Mukesh Dalal was elected unopposed from Surat, counting was done for 542 seats. According to the final results released on Wednesday, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has crossed the majority mark and Prime Minister Narendra Modi is going to form the government for the third consecutive time.

However, the BJP has lost a large number of seats in the three Hindi heartland states. BJP candidates contested the elections in the name of Modi this time too, but the party managed to win only 240 seats, which is less than the 272 seats needed for a majority.

In such a situation, BJP needs the support of its allies in the NDA to form the government. In the 2019 general election, BJP won 303 seats and in the 2014 elections, it won 282 seats. NDA’s main ally N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has won 16 seats in Andhra Pradesh and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal-United (JDU) has won 12 seats in Bihar.

In such a situation, with the support of the above two and other allies, the NDA has crossed the majority mark. Congress, which is part of the group of opposition parties ‘India’, has won 99 seats as compared to 52 seats in the year 2019.

The BJP suffered major losses in Rajasthan and Haryana due to the better performance of the Congress in these states. The Samajwadi Party (SP) has put India in a strong position by winning 37 seats in Uttar Pradesh, while the Trinamool Congress (TMC), another major component of the opposition alliance, won 29 seats in West Bengal, which is more than the 22 seats of the year 2019.

At the same time, BJP, which had won 18 seats in the state in the last Lok Sabha elections, was able to win only 12 this time. In the results, the BJP-led NDA did not get as big a victory as it had expected and as was predicted in various ‘exit polls’. More than 64 crore people exercised their franchise in the elections held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1.

Disclaimer: CricketInFocus has not edited this news. This news has been published from PTI-language feed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top