Voters also showed lethargy in those seats where there was no fierce contest

Lucknow. In the elections held on 80 Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh, the constituencies of some of the main candidates witnessed less than average voting. Only 40 percent voters turned up to cast their votes in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha seat Varanasi, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh’s Lucknow, Union Minister Smriti Zubin Irani’s Amethi and the seat of opposition’s main face Rahul Gandhi. Not only this, in the seats of many Union Ministers, voting was even less than the average of that phase. It seemed that in those seats where the contest was not interesting or close, the voters also did not show much enthusiasm towards the election.

BJP’s strong leader Rajnath Singh was in the fray from Lucknow seat which was included in the fifth phase. But, the voting percentage in Lucknow is less than the average of 58.02 percent in this phase. Similarly, Union Minister Smriti Zubin Irani is the candidate from Amethi. This seat was also included in the fifth phase and the voting percentage here was 3.68 percent less than the average of this phase.

On the other hand, Union Minister Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti was in the fray in Fatehpur. Here too, the voting was not as per the average of the fifth phase. The same situation prevailed in Muzaffarnagar. Union Minister Sanjeev Balyan is the candidate from there. The average voting in the first phase was 61.11 percent, but 59.13 percent votes were cast on Sanjeev Balyan’s seat.

In Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s constituency Varanasi, Rahul Gandhi’s constituency Rae Bareli, Maneka Gandhi’s constituency Sultanpur, Union Minister Anupriya Patel’s constituency Mirzapur, Dharmendra Yadav’s constituency Azamgarh, the voting was more than the average of the respective phases, but could not reach 60 percent. However, in SP President Akhilesh Yadav’s seat Kannauj, Union Minister Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey’s seat Chandauli, Union Minister Pankaj Chaudhary’s seat Maharajganj, Union Minister Ajay Mishra Teni’s seat Lakhimpur Kheri, the voting was more than 60 percent. Voting on these four seats was more than the average voting of those phases.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top